National Advisory Council

Meeting Room
The Office for the Protection of Minors at CMSM is assisted in its task by a talented cadre of experts in the field who comprise the National Advisory Council (NAC). Similar to the National Review Board (NRB) of the United States Catholic Conference of Bishops (USCCB),  the NAC is an advisory panel of nationally recognized experts who volunteer their time to advise CMSM on all matters related to the protection of minors for religious institutes of men in and throughout the United States.

NAC Members

Len Sperry, MD, Ph.D., D.Min., Chair
Steve Levatino, Esq., Vice Chair
Carol Brescia, LCSW
Rolando Diaz, Ph.D.
Angelo Giardino, MD
Mary Hess, Ph.D.
Bishop Gerald Kicanas (Episcopal Liaison)
Sister Katarina Schuth, OSF, Ph.D.

Current Liaisons

Tom Southard, COO, CMSM
Ernest Stark, liaison from the USCCB National Review Board

CMSM Leadership

Fr. Mark Padrez, OP, President, CMSM
Executive Director, CMSM (position currently vacant)


Drew Dillingham, USCCB 
Rev. Stephan Kappler, Psy.D.